top of page

OUR ACTIONS - Taking care in Luxembourg

The Chaîne de l'Espoir Luxembourg welcomes children suffering from severe pathologies which could not be operated on during its missions for lack of adequate infrastructure, as well as children who are referred to it on the basis of a medical file. Operated and treated at the Luxembourg Hospital Center, the North Hospital Center or the Saint-Luc university clinics in Brussels, they then stay for several weeks or even several months with Luxembourg host families. Discover here the portrait of some of our little patients ...

If you are interested in welcoming a sick child to Luxembourg and accompanying him during his stay in hospital,

contact us by email at chainedelespoir.lu@gmail.com.

IMG_4752.jpg

Gallo

During one of his ENT missions in Dakar, Dr Luc Schroeder had received Gallo, then 5 years old, in consultation. His face was deformed by a horse bite suffered at the age of one year and required extensive treatment in Luxembourg.

Two operations divided into two stays spaced twelve months apart were necessary to make the little boy smile. In addition to the aesthetic aspect, the interventions allowed the child to find the mouth opening necessary to eat properly and ensure dental hygiene.

Gallo has since been reunited with his family and is educated at a public school. The little boy is regularly followed by the ENT doctor at the Albert Royer Hospital, a CDEL partner in Dakar.

Lionel

Lionnel, 3 years old, originally from Burundi, underwent a heart operation by catheterization at the Saint-Luc University Clinics in Brussels. The child was then been transferred to Luxembourg where he was able to benefit from medical monitoring provided for nearly two months by Dr Kerstin Wagner. Back in his country and surrounded by the affection of his family, Lionel is today a little boy who has fully recovered his capacities and his vitality.

2019-12-21_7201_9329_edited.jpg
92622a46-1ff5-4d43-97e4-a7b4be47446e.jpg

Ange

Ange, 3 years old, from Rwanda suffered from a major heart defect which was operated on at the Saint-Luc University Clinics in Brussels. Back in Luxembourg where she stayed for several months, she was successfully followed by the cardio-pediatrician of the Chaîne de l'Espoir Luxembourg, Dr Kerstin Wagner. The little girl has now returned to Rwanda from where her family informed us that Ange was now leading a fulfilling life and had joined a kindergarten class. Our NGO regularly receives photos which testify to the good health of the child and remind us that the operation from which she was able to benefit, saved her life.

Anselme

Suffering from congenital pseudo-arthritis, Anselme, 9, returned to Luxembourg 6 months after an initial treatment which had made it possible to lengthen his left leg by nearly 12 cm. However, a second bone graft was necessary, followed by daily physiotherapy care for almost 4 months. Recovering remarkably, Anselme was able to have his external fixator removed after only one month and returned to Benin with a splint but without his crutches. Today, his two legs give him excellent stability and Anselme can enjoy life like all children of his age.

4173d687-718e-4c6e-bc6d-aa2d4f93e45d_edi
dd3928bb-ca97-4a21-b247-f225589010cf.JPG

Kesiya

Kesiya, 2 years old, was among the last children on the list of patients who can be operated on during a CDEB cardiac surgery mission in Kigali. Due to lack of time, the doctors were unable to operate on her, but her malformation being worrying and requiring urgent intervention, the Chaîne de l'Espoir Luxembourg organized her operation at the Saint-Luc University Clinics as soon as possible. After a stay of several weeks with a host family in the Grand Duchy, little Kesiya was able to find her family in Rwanda in full health.

Emmanuella

Originally from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Emmanuella, 6, was successfully operated on for an ENT infection and fitted with a hearing aid to compensate for the deficiencies from which she suffered. Since returning home, the girl has returned to school where she has made significant progress thanks to her new hearing skills. Her social life has also improved since her hearing loss - a source of isolation - is now just a bad memory.

7_edited.jpg
Hermann hop Ter.JPG

Hermann

Hermann, 4, from Madagascar, underwent surgery for a heart failure at the Saint-Luc University Clinics in Brussels. In Luxembourg, where he was convalescing for several weeks, Hermann was followed by Dr Kerstin Wagner, pediatric cardiologist at Kannerklinik. Today the little boy can fully enjoy life and is full of energy. His parents, grateful to the Chaîne de l'Espoir Luxembourg, regularly send artisanal products from their country which are then sold for the benefit of our association.

 

bottom of page

La Chaîne de l’Espoir Luxembourg accueille les enfants souffrant de pathologies sévères qui n’ont pu être opérés lors de ses missions faute d’infrastructures adéquates ainsi que les enfants qui lui sont recommandés sur base d’un dossier médical. Opérés et soignés au Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg, au Centre Hospitalier du Nord ou aux  cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc à Bruxelles, ils séjournent ensuite plusieurs semaines voire plusieurs mois au sein de familles d’accueil luxembourgeoises. Découvrez ici le  portrait de quelques-uns de nos petits patients …

Gallo

Au cours d’une  de ses missions ORL à Dakar, le Dr Luc Schroeder avait reçu en consultation Gallo, alors âgé de 5 ans. Son visage était déformé par une morsure de cheval subie à l’âge d’un an et nécessitait une importante prise en charge à Luxembourg. 

Deux  opérations réparties en deux séjours espacés de douze mois ont été nécessaires pour rendre son sourire au petit garçon. Outre l’aspect  esthétique, les interventions ont permis à l’enfant de retrouver l’ouverture buccale nécessaire pour s’alimenter correctement et assurer son hygiène dentaire.

Gallo a depuis lors retrouvé sa famille et est  scolarisé à l’école publique. Le petit garçon est régulièrement suivi par le médecin ORL de l’Hôpital Albert Royer, partenaire de CDEL à Dakar.

Lionnel

Lionnel, 3 ans, originaire du Burundi, a bénéficié d’une opération cardiaque par cathétérisme aux Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc à Bruxelles. L’enfant a ensuite été transféré à Luxembourg où il a pu bénéficier d’un suivi médical assuré pendant près de deux mois  par le docteur Kerstin Wagner. De retour dans son pays  et entouré de  l’affection de sa famille, Lionnel  est aujourd’hui un garçonnet qui a pleinement recouvré ses capacités et sa vitalité.

Ange

Ange, 3 ans, originaire du Rwanda souffrait d’une importante malformation cardiaque qui a été opérée aux Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc à Bruxelles.  De retour à Luxembourg où elle a séjourné pendant plusieurs mois, elle a été suivie avec succès par la cardio-pédiatre de la Chaîne de l’Espoir Luxembourg, le Dr Kerstin Wagner. La petite fille  a désormais retrouvé le Rwanda d’où sa famille nous a informé qu’Ange menait désormais une vie épanouie  et avait rejoint  une classe de maternelle. Notre ONG reçoit régulièrement des photos qui témoignent de la bonne santé de l’enfant et nous rappellent que l’opération dont elle  a pu bénéficier lui a sauvé la vie. 

Souffrant d’une pseudo-arthrose congénitale, Anselme, 9 ans, est revenu au Luxembourg 6 mois après une première prise en charge qui avait permis d’allonger sa jambe gauche de près de 12 cm. Une seconde greffe d’os s’est avérée cependant nécessaire, suivie de soins de kinésithérapie quotidiens pendant près de 4 mois. Récupérant  remarquablement, Anselme a pu faire ôter son fixateur externe au terme d’un mois seulement et est retourné au Bénin avec une attelle mais sans ses béquilles.  Aujourd’hui, ses deux jambes lui offrent une excellente stabilité et Anselme peut profiter de la vie comme tous les enfants de son âge.

Anselme

 

 

Kesiya

 

Kesiya, 2 ans, figurait parmi les derniers enfants sur la liste des patients pouvant être opérés durant une mission de chirurgie cardiaque de CDEB à Kigali. Par manque de temps, les médecins n’ont pu l’opérer mais sa malformation étant préoccupante et nécessitant une intervention urgente, la Chaîne de l’Espoir Luxembourg a organisé son opération au Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc  dans les meilleurs délais. Après un séjour de plusieurs semaines en famille d’accueil au Grand-Duché, la petite Kesiya a pu retrouver les siens en pleine santé.

Emanuella

 

Originaire de la République Démocratique du Congo, Emmanuella, 6 ans, a pu être opérée avec succès d'une infection ORL et équipée d’un appareil auditif afin de compenser les déficiences dont elle souffrait. Depuis son retour au pays, la fillette a repris le chemin de l’école où elle a fait des progrès notables grâce à ses nouvelles capacités auditives. Sa vie sociale s’est elle aussi améliorée puisque sa malentendance - source d’isolement -  n’est désormais plus qu’un mauvais souvenir.

Hermann

 

Hermann, 4 ans, originaire de Madagascar, a été opéré d’une déficience cardiaque aux Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc à Bruxelles. A Luxembourg où il était en convalescence pendant plusieurs semaines, Hermann a été suivi par le Dr Kerstin Wagner, cardiologue pédiatrique à la Kannerklinik. Aujourd’hui le petit garçon peut pleinement profiter de la vie et déborde d’énergie. Ses parents, reconnaissants envers la Chaîne de l’Espoir Luxembourg, envoient régulièrement des produits artisanaux de leur pays qui sont ensuite vendus au profit de notre association.

 

Si vous êtes intéressé d'accueillir un enfant malade à Luxembourg et de l'accompagner durant son séjour à l'hôpital,

contactez-nous par mail à l'adresse chainedelespoir.lu@gmail.com.

© 2020 Chaîne de l'Espoir Luxembourg